Vegan Spanish tortilla

This is so tasty and light.. it’s made with chickpea flour, potatoes, French beans and tomatoes.


Ingredients

250ml chickpea flour
500ml water
1 teaspoon of salt

8 small potatoes
a good handful of French beans
1 onion
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
3 tablespoons of olive oil
a few pinches of salt

Directions
1. combine flour and salt, add water little by little so that there are no lumps
2. set this aside for 3 or 4 hours
3. in the meantime, peel your potatoes, slice them very finely and do so with the onion too
4. wash the beans and cut them in half
5. heat up the olive oil in a pan and lightly fry the veggies until the potatoes are soft, adding salt halfway through so they can lose some water
6. add the tin of tomatoes and simmer for a bit until some of the liquid has evaporated
7. then pour the two mixtures in a baking tray and bake at 200 degrees for about 35 mins (you can do this in a frying pan as well if your oven sucks :P)

10 comments

  1. Fefé

    what a strange Spanish tortilla..really interesting! but How can you call it “tortilla” if you put just an onion??!!
    lol

  2. aX

    i reckon i described it as tortilla as it was more easily understood by english speaking people. wouldn’t have made sense to call it farifrittata 🙂

  3. Christina

    Wow! This looks delicious. I haven’t seen anything like this. I like how this recipe, just like most of your other ones, doesn’t require “exotic” ingredients and thus is very accessible. I am definitely going to check your blog more often; I saw your posts at veganblog.it. Bravo! Buon lavoro 🙂

    • aX

      hey christina! did you end up here after being on veganblog.it or the other way around?

      i’m glad to hear you like the recipes!
      hope to see some of yours on veganblog in case you post there as well 🙂

      • Christina

        The former 🙂 I check veganblog.it every day. It’s a brilliant site and it’s inspiring to see that the vegan movement has many talented followers even in Italy (where people still think vegans don’t exist!). Now I have *two* brilliant sites to check out. I don’t think I’ll be posting anything on veganblog.it not only because I am too self-conscious of my Italian (even though I am of Italian heritage and have been studying the language for over 5 years) but also because I don’t have very many original recipes that I can call my own; I tend to make modifications to the recipes I find in my many vegan cookbooks. 🙂 Cheers, Alessio! And thanks for writing back.

  4. aX

    that’s interesting. you know, i was just about to ask where you’d learnt your english as it’s that good and there you say it, you’ve got italian ancestors but were born in an english speaking country (i would assume :))
    just that you know though, there are some other people who post there who aren’t native speakers, there’s nothing to be worried about. they’re a friendly lot there, it’s always interesting to see the contributions of people who live in another country.
    but i agree with you, some of the people on the blog are really skilled, too bad i’m not a housewife too so i could post recipes every day hehe. have a good evening, was nice “talking” 🙂

    • Christina

      How amusing 🙂 Yes, I am from Canada (one province over from where Alexisonfire are from :P); my mum was born in Italy and came here when she was 6 with her parents, and my father was born here, though his parents were born in Italy and came here in the 1950’s. I was never taught Italian but I started studying it 6 years ago.

      You’re right. Everyone on the forum seems very welcoming and helpful. I might actually have a recipe to post, but I have to get through this one last exam I have (in fact, I really shouldn’t even be writing here while I should be studying!).

      I guess the fact that we are not housewives, as you say, makes us truly appreciate the little time we get to let loose and cook for a couple of hours, right?

      It was a pleasure talking to you as well! Take care and keep up the good work 🙂

      • aX

        aw, i have a soft spot for canada he he. although i never made it down to ontario when i was there i loved québec (which is, alas, the only province i managed to visit.) i’d really love to come back soon, maybe in autumn to see those gorgeous sceneries again.. when you said one province over from ontario you mean québec or manitoba?
        that’s an interesting story you have behind your family though, it’s nice to see that you are interested in learning more about the culture and the actual language of those who still live in the old continent 🙂
        so well, let us know how your exam went and of course if you’ve had any success with the cupcakes (which i’m sure you will!)
        have a good one! alessioX

Leave a Reply

