Vegan poutine

Whoever knows me knows how much I love Canada and escpially the province of Québec.. This is a little tribute to the days spent in Montréal. My last meal there was actually a non vegan poutine with my dear friend Malorie somewhere on Rachel Est 🙂

Here is what you’ll need (I believe this is a lower fat version compared to the original dish! haha)

For the potatoes:
About 6 small to medium white potatoes
3 tbsp sunflower oil
salt

For the gravy: *you won’t even need all of this*
250ml vegan stock
1 tbsp sunflower oil
1 tbsp plain flour
1 tbsp soya sauce
1/2 tbsp nutritional yeast

+ your favourite shredded vegan cheese (I used the Redwood’s Cheezly mozzarella)

Directions:
1. first off, make the gravy. heat up a small saucepan and add the oil, then the flour and stir well until combined.
2. wait until the flour has gone golden brown and then start whisking in the stock
3. then add the soya sauce and nutritional yeast, simmer for another 5 mins or so
4. peel and cut the potatoes in chip-like shape and fry them in the 3 tbsp of sunflower oil
5. once they’re golden and soft inside lay them on a couple of kitchen towels to get rid of the excess oil and salt them
6. shred your favourite vegan cheese on them and chuck them in the oven for 5/10 mins so that the “cheese” will melt
7. once that’s done cover with a couple of tablespoons of gravy and you’re good to go

One comment

  1. Christina Vani

    Oh. My. Goodness! You just made my day. I’m doing some research for my Italian prof and decided I’d let my eyes take a break and check out your blog. So I was scrolling down and when my eyes landed on the photo of my province’s delicacy–that I miss very much, I must say–,I instantly started to salivate, and a satisfied grin appeared on my face. Such pride I feel in your description of an artery-clogging dish–well, artery-clogging in its original, very unhealthy form, of course. This is splendid! Thank you for this adaptation. I will surely look to replicate it in the next little bit. I just need to get my hands on some good vegan cheese…. Cheers! And grazie mille, come sempre 🙂

Leave a Reply

