Mother Dough saga 2.1

The other day I made some bread but wasn’t most pleased with it. I realised that it tasted very yeasty and just wasn’t like the bread I was used to eat back home.. So I decided to try and give another go at the mother dough to make my own loafs and see whether it’s really worth it. The first attempt never worked as my bread never rose, possibly due to impatience or bad luck..

All Italian recipes seemed to call for flour type “00” which is a super fine flour used to make breads and pasta. Others called for “Manitoba” flour, which is apparently unheard of in Canada or anywhere else, that I know.

The closest I could find readily in the UK without having to place an online order was this blend of wheat grown in the Canadian Prairies:

this

which has a whopping 15 grams of protein per 100 grams of flour.

Anyway, I made my starter again by using:

100g strong white Canadian flour
100g filtered water
1 tablespoon of cane sugar (you can use all sorts of sweeteners, I’ve read some people use tomato, pineapple and even grape juice)

Once combined, I kneaded it for about 15 mins (it needs a lot of love!) and then placed it in a tub (ideally it should be kept in a glass container but I didn’t have one, I’ll get hold of one before the first refresh so that I can transfer it into that) that I wrapped in tea towels and stored in the oven away from draughts.

As I did this last night, the first refresh is due tomorrow night, 48 hours later. Photos to come!

Leave a Reply

