Mother Dough Saga 2.4

Sorry for the lack of updates on this!

Due to work commitments and little time to spend in the kitchen, I refreshed my dough on Friday evening (it was supposed to be refreshed 12 hours later, but I didn’t have time in the morning before heading out to work) with 1 tablespoon of filtered water and 1 of strong white Canadian flour.

I then noticed that my dough still seemed a bit weak so I refreshed it on Saturday morning again with the ratio “1 tbsp flour : 1 tbsp water” and then again in the evening. This time, I also noticed that the dough was still roughly 100g in weight, I added about 100g of flour and 100ml of water to make sure I’d have enough to make a decent-sized loaf.

I decided to give it slightly more time to ferment as I was worried it wouldn’t make the bread rise, so it’s still there in the oven in a glass jar wrapped up in tea towels.. I’ll have a look at it tonight again when I get in from work and keep you posted.

Wish me luck! I really want this to work.. O_o

2 comments

  1. mihl

    Refreshing the dough with only one tablespoon of flour and water will probably not give the bacteria/yeast enough fuel. I suggest to use about 50 g of water and flour. It’s also important to refesh the starter on a regular basis (about every 24 hours for best results). Good luck!

    • alessio

      Thank you for the suggestion! If what I have right now isn’t going to work, I’ll start from scratch again and follow your advice. You have an amazing blog by the way, with very nice photos! Wish one day I will get as many viewers as you do šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

