Fried courgette flowers

This is a recipe that originates in Liguria, the Italian region I come from.. we love courgettes and make tons of stuff with them. As you know from other Italian recipes, we don’t throw anything away (while I lived in Germany I always used to see turnip greens being discarded while in Pulia they make delicious pasta with it.)

Anyway, these are fresh courgette flowers from our garden in Peckham. We’ve been trying to grow a variety local to my hometown called “trombetta” which is a long and thin courgette with a very sweet flavour. For anyone interested in finding out what they look like, you can click here. They are normally stewed or used in pies such as the famous “torta verde” (green pie) which I am eager to prepare as soon as they’ll have fruited.

Ingredients
About 6 large flowers
160ml cold sparkling water
130g plain flour
a good pinch of salt
a pinch of baking powder
sunflower oil for frying

Directions
1. wash the flowers to remove any dirt or dead insects
2. make the batter by sifting the flour, salt, baking powder in a bowl
3. pour the sparkling water in and whisk it very well to remove all lumps
4. dip the flowers in the batter and fry in hot oil until golden brown

As you can see above the batter needs to be bubbly and quite thick.
I can’t tell you how delicious and delicate they are. A real treat!

4 comments

  1. Chicca66

    Adoro queste cose, peccato le mie zucchine ormai non stanno più producendo quindi questa delizia la rimando all’anno prossimo 🙂
    Ps: non avevo ancora visto la versione nuova del blog, mi piace molto, semplice e ben visibile! Poi mi piace sforzarmi a leggere in inglese, anche se il mio inglese fa penissima 🙂
    Ciao Lobino un grande abbraccio!

    • alessio

      Chicca, anche io adoro i fiori di zucchina. Qua non sono ancora uscite per via del tempo ma spero che per fine settembre avremo le trombette della Liguria. Forse sono ottimista ma ci spero.. Inoltre non so se hai notato su facebook ma adesso ho tradotto il blog anche in italiano quindi se vuoi mi puoi seguire lì! L’indirizzo è http://alessiovvv.wordpress.com
      Dagli un’occhiata e fammi sapere, alcune cose sono ancora da finire! xx

  2. Bibi

    le mie zucchine quest’anno purtroppo hanno avuto un problema e mi sono dovuta accontentare dei teneroni……ma i fiori in pastella sono una vera delizia mamma mia!!!

  3. Kris (@lavegetaliana)

    Mmmm! Sembrano buonissimi! Mia nonna usa i fiori nelle sue polpette, ma di solito mi da alcuni, così posso sperimentare nel creare delle polpette vegan con i fiori di zucchine. Gnam gnam. Mi sono trasferita, però, a Toronto, un po’ lontana dai nonni, quindi non ho più accesso alla bontà del loro orto. Sono contenta di almeno vedere cosa fanno gli altri con questa delizia. Bravo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

